Lizama Takes Lead After Rd.8/10 In Monster Motocross


Guam – Round eight of the ten round Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships was held this past Sunday out at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo. The motocross racing supported by Cycles Plus Honda and RPM Yamaha Power Sports started at 1pm free for all to come out and watch and was some of the closest racing yet this year.

High Lights
Both the kids 85cc minibike and Open Mini Atv classes saw the most intense action packed racing for the lead held yet this year. In the 85cc minibike class in heat one of two scheduled round eight heats, #1 JR Cepeda aboard his Johnstone Supplies supported Kawasaki Kx85, jumped out to an early lead followed closely by #14 Anthony Ignacio, aboard his Yamaha Yz85.

The two leaders quickly pulled away from the rest of the field which included #98 Marshal Vawters jr in third, #29 Andrew Ignacio and #30 Rowen Pereira in fourth and fifth respectively. Cepeda was able to hold off Anthony Ignacio to take the heat one win.

In heat two JR Cepeda once again took the early lead followed closely by Anthony Ignacio, but as the the leader came around to complete the first lap he overshot a turn and went wide. The overshoot was all Anthony Ignacio needed to slip his Yamaha by to take the lead. Cepeda made a quick recovery and was up alongside Ignacio challenging for the lead and therefore the overall win almost immediately after being past.

With rocks, dirt and dust flying, the two leaders were giving it their all racing each other on the razor edge of their talents and control. At the hard charging pace the leaders were going at the track and at each other, something was bound to happen- with just a few laps left in the final heat it did.  Cepeda, who is one to never quit, crashed on a down hill section of the course. Cepeda, after going down quickly, remounted and got back into the race still maintaining second place not having lost a single position in the excursion. Anthony Ignacio however was on his way to yet another heat win having a comfortable lead over Cepeda after his spill.

Overall it was #14 Anthony Ignacio taking first with JR Cepeda taking second, Marshall Vawters jr third, Andrew Ignacio fourth and rounding out the top five was #30 Rowen Pereira in fifth overall for round eight.

#27 Marcus Manglona, aboard the DOCOMO Apex 90, was a rock star during round eight of the series by being the only rider to have won an overall in the Open Mini Atv class other than the dominator, #9 Ramon Torres. The DOCOMO rider Marcus was on fire this past Sunday and took the heat one win over a field of fifteen competitors in the class.  Taking second was #49 Mason Manglona aboard a DOCOMO supported Apex 70, third went to the Aloha Maid supported DRX mounted #18 Isaiah Reyes, fourth was #4 Janissa Torres aboard a DRX and rounding out the top five was #5 Colin Ray Cruz aboard a DRX.

In the big gun classes, #7 Jonathan Tye Lizama, racing aboard the team Cycles Plus Kawasaki Kxf250, swept both Open class Motorcycle heats to take the round eight win and propelled himself into the points championship lead. Taking second was Honda mounted #21 Rico Pereira with #78 Anthony Ignacio taking third on his Yamaha Yz125.  Rounding out the top five were #111 Jacob Einloth also aboard a Yamaha Yz125 in fourth and #5 Shawn Aguilo on the Cycles Plus Kawasaki Kxf250 in fifth.

In the Open Atv class #1 Robert Bucek took the Cycles Plus Suzuki Ltr450 to a two heat sweep to take the round eight win. Taking second was #4 Donavan Pitter aboard a Honda Trx450 with third place going to #10 Shane Reyes aboard the Aloha Maid supported Kawasaki kfx450. Taking fourth place was Yamaha mounted #73 Anthony Gumabon with #7 Cid Caser taking a fifth aboard a Yamaha Yfz450.

Round nine of the ten round Monster Energy 2011 Guam Motocross Championships will be held on Sunday July 24th at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo. The racing is set to begin at 1pm. For more information visit or contact Guam Racing Federation Public Information Officer Rob Bucek at 727-5381.

Information from a press release.