2016 HERO Awards Winners Announced


The HERO awards is held to recognize outstanding individuals and excellence in the tourism industry.

Guam – The Guam Visitors Bureau and the Guam Hotel and Restaurant Association hosted the HERO awards today to recognize outstanding individuals and excellence in the tourism industry.


For the 2016 HERO Awards, there were 52 nominees placed in the following categories: Håfa Adai, Rookie of the Year, Middle Management, Supervisory, Non-Supervisory, Life Saving and Integrity. At a special ceremony, two winners from each category were awarded. The Håfa Adai spirit winners are Leo Pangelinan and Linda Templo. The Rookie of the Year Winners are Sabrina Garcia and Melchor Kenneth De Jesus. For the Middle Management category, the winners are Mary Ann Clark and Rodel Soberano. Supervisory Winners are Nia Liam and Gilbert San Nicolas. For Non-Supervisory, Vanessa Arce and Shiala Grace Jimenez are the winners. Winners for the Life Saving category are Julinson Palsis and Brandon Santos. Lastly, for the Integrity Award, the winners are Lourdes Peiso and Jimeline Osorio.

GHRA President Mary Torre says, “We really want to recognize and show the range of industry provides, from hotels, restuarants, retailers, transportation companies, and more. We thank you for all being here and for your service throughout the island.”
GVB Deputy GM Telo Taitague says, “Because of all of you, we continue to break new records in visitor arrivals. Today, we honor you for your hard work and dedication in bringing out the best the island has to offer.”
The 2016 HERO Awards was held at the Hilton Guam Resort and Spa.