Bills recognizing Santa Rita and Talofofo in the CHamoru language also introduced

Sen. Telo Taitague (file photo)

Senator Telo Taitague on Friday introduced Bills 125 and 126 officially recognizing Santa Rita and Talofofo in the CHamoru language, namely Sånta Rita and Talo′fo′fo′.

The bills are cosponsored by Senator Clynton Ridgell, Senator V. Anthony Ada, Senator Frank Blas, Jr., Senator Joanne Brown, Senator Christopher Duenas, Speaker Therese Terlaje, Senator Joe San Agustin, Senator Sabina Perez, and Vice-Speaker Tina Muña Barnes.

The latest proposals were introduced following a public hearing of the Kumision i Fino’ CHamoru yan i Fina’nå’guen i Historia yan Lina’la’ I Taotao Tåno’ (Kumision), which was held this past Tuesday at the Agat Community Center.

The public hearing provided residents from Guam’s southern villages to submit questions and offer comments on the adoption of village names in the CHamoru language. The Kumision also serves as the Guam Place Name Commission to develop, implement, and advise interested parties on a coherent, culturally sound and historically accurate set of criteria for selecting place names. The organization anticipates conducting additional public hearings in May and June for central and northern villages, respectively.

“I thank Mayor Dale Alvarez and Mayor Ernest Chargualaf for participating in the first hearing of the Kumision’s Guam Place Names Project – and for supporting this meaningful concept to help perpetuate the CHamoru language. The adoption of village names in the CHamoru language represents an important step forward in our broader efforts to reconnect with and preserve our history and heritage,” Senator Taitague stated.

(Senator Telo Taitague Release)