King And Prince Crowned


Guam- In a repeat of the Guam International Open Manny Tagle and Keith Guerrero battled through the final match, each unable to sustain a lead as both bowlers struggled through the opening stanza.  Tagle held a one pin lead going into the seventh frame then rolled a turkey in the 8th, 9th and 10th frame to counter Guerrero’s four bagger and take the match with a thrilling 190-189 score converting a pin 4-6 leave on the extra frame.

In the semi-final round Top seed Manny Tagle recovered from two early missed frames to move on to the finals via a 179-156 decision while 2nd seed Keith Guerrero prevailed over 3rd seed Rey Zialcita 196-156.

Manny Tagle led all qualifiers in the King Division with a 1282 six game total rolling a set of 228, 204, 207, 197, 209 and 237 on the 37 feet medium pattern.  Keith Guerrero finished second with a 1258 total followed by Rey Zialcita 1221, Joey Miranda III 1170, Dante Godoy, 1159, Chuck Meno Sr 1117, Charlie Catbagan 1109, Felymar Mandapat 1094, Ricky Duenas 1056 and Rick Ada rounded off the top ten with a 1016 pinfall, one pin ahead of 11th place Jesse Eyoel to enter the elimination round.

Arvin Domingo jumped out to an early lead with a double and spare in the opening frames of the finals match, but a single pin miss coupled with two splits gave Michael Gadia the opportunity to inch back into the match and take a one pin lead after eight frames.  Gadia missed on the tenth frame which gave Domingo second life as he struck on the tenth frame, however his extra frame shot hit light into the pocket leaving a 3-5-6 conversion ending the match as he was unable to make up the 18 pin handicap deficit.  Gadia claimed the title on his first tournament with a 156+36 to 170+18 tally and etches his name on the year end grand finals.

Arvin Domingo ousted two time defending monthly champion and top seed Teliann San Nicolas in the semi-final round 186+18 to 184+17 while 2nd seed Michael Gadia used his 13 pins advantage to eliminate Charles Meno Jr 165+36 to 169+23 to set up the finals match-up.

Teliann San Nicolas took pole position in the Prince Division qualifier held earlier in the day with a 1218 total on 102 pins of handicap followed by Mike Gadia 1202 (216), Charles Meno Jr 1192 (138), Chris Santos 1179 (270), Maddison Willis 1151 (150), Jayson Voiray 1143 (150), Chris Leal 11329 (132), Ben Cruz 1103 (154) and Arvin Doming’s 1102 (108) edged out Shannon Bukikosa’s 1101 (126) pinfall to advance to the elimination round.

The next Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes will be held on Sunday, October 24, 2010, 9:00 a.m. at the Central Lanes Bowling Center.