Cepeda Controls Moto Series


Yigo, Guam – On Sunday at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo round 10 of the Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships began its racing day in some very challenging muddy track conditions. The first of two heats for the many classes dueling for the championship saw racers slipping and sliding and doing their best just to survive the slick and mud conditions.  Several riders and machines found the first heat conditions too much and were unable to make it to the finish. By the second heat the track had dried up somewhat and had racers shifting through the gears and launching off the many jumps on their way towards the checkers.

Shell V-Power Holeshot Recipients

Taking the Shell V-Power Holeshot award in the Open Motorcycle class was #31 Tim Wenden on his Honda Crf450. In the Open Atv class #81 Deven Castro took the award aboard a Yamaha Yzf450. #49 Mason Manglona took the Shell V-Power award for the Kids Mini Atv class on his Docomo supported Apex 70 with #71 Mathew Sandlin receiving the award in the Kids Mini Bike class on his Kawasaki Kx85.

High Lights

In heat one of two, #31 Tim Wenden for the second time aboard a Honda shot out to an early lead in the premier Open Motorcycle class. Wenden was able to pull a large lead by the fourth lap over the top five of #59 Caleb Barretto, #915 Anthony Ignacio, , #42 JR Cepeda and #3 Jacob Einloth all running second through fifth respectively. The Honda of Wenden was looking unbeatable for thirteen laps but then on lap fourteen it appeared that the Wenden train was running out of steam as first Barretto got by on his Cycles Plus Kawasaki with both Ignacio and Cepeda in his tow. This dropped the early leader Wenden quickly back to fourth. Barretto’s lead was short lived as he lost control and crashed on a high speed portion of the course handing the lead to Ignacio who was on a Yamaha. Barretto was able to remount in the fifth position but was struggling with a dislocated shoulder. With Ignacio in the lead and Cepeda comfortably in second aboard his Johnstone Supplies supported Kawasaki the battle for position was over. At the finish of heat one Ignacio took the win with Cepeda second, Wenden third, Einloth fourth, and Barretto hanging on for fifth.

At the start of heat two it was again Wenden taking the lead with Ignacio, Cepeda, and Einloth close behind. Barretto elected not to run the second heat but rather seek to have his shoulder popped back into place and get ready for round 11 of the championships. Wenden was unable to pull away but rather had his work cut out for him as the two youngsters of Ignacio and Cepeda were letting it all hang out and by lap six Ignacio had moved into the lead with Cepeda making the move into second past Wenden on lap ten. At the finish it was Ignacio with the win making it a sweep taking both heat wins for the round ten overall. Cepeda took second for a second overall for the round, with Wenden in third for a third overall for the round. Rounding out the top five respectively was Einloth, and #612 Gary Camacho aboard a Yamaha.

With just two more rounds left in this years Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships the fourteen year old JR Cepeda and his #42 Johnstone supported Cycles Plus Kawasaki have a commanding lead of the Open Motorcycle class championship. Looking to make history Cepeda having already numerically clinched the 250cc class championship only needs to show up and ride smart in the remaining rounds to take the premier Open Motorcycle class championship making him the youngest rider in memory to have done so.

With two rounds remaining the current top ten Open Motorcycle class standings are as follows:

1st #42 JR Cepeda Kawasaki/Johnstone Supplies- 449 pts

2nd #59 Caleb Barretto Kawasaki/Cycles Plus- 397 pts

3rd #915 Anthony Ignacio Yamaha- 308 pts

4th #3 Jacob Einloth Yamaha- 271 pts

5th #19 Zachary Chang Honda- 248 pts

6th #33 Jake Jones Honda/TripleJ- 234 pts

7th #12 Devin Castro Yamaha- 233 pts

8th #926 Gary Camacho Yamaha- 224 pts

9th #5 Shawn Aguilo Kawasaki/Cycles Plus- 184 pts

10th #31 Tim Wenden KTM- 169 pts

Other results

In the 450cc Motorcycle class #31 Tim Wenden took first on his Honda sweeping the round over second place finisher #717 William Dunn aboard a Yamaha. Taking third was current 450cc championship points leader #19 Zachary Chang aboard a Honda. Caleb Barretto placed fourth after dislocating his shoulder.

In the 250cc Motorcycle class #915 Anthony Ignacio on a Yamaha swept the round to take the win. #42 JR Cepeda having numerically clinching the 250cc championship at round 9 of the series took a strong second aboard his Johnstone Supplies supported Kawasaki. Taking third for the round was #3 Jacob Einloth aboard a Yamaha.

Open Atv class saw #1 Robert Bucek aboard a Cycles Plus Suzuki take the win over #43 Andy Painter also aboard a Suzuki. #81 Pete Castro powered his Yamaha into a strong third place finish.

In the Kids Open Minibike class #13 Deven Manibusan on a Suzuki battled with #71 Mathew Sandlin on a Kawasaki for the lead and was able to make the move to take the win. #12 Stoney Bucek on a Cycles Plus Kawasaki took second with Sandlin taking a third place overall for the round.

In the 65cc Kids Minibike class #8 Ry’niko Camacho on a Kawasaki edged out his big brother #88 Ethan Camacho also racing a Kawasaki for the win.

In the Kids Open Mini Atv class #49 Mason Manglona took first aboard his very fast Docomo supported Apex 70. #5 Janissa Torres also aboard an Apex took second while #66 Jeric Johnson placed third on his Drx.

Kids 90cc Mini Atv class had Janissa Torres take the Torres Racing Team backed Apex 90 to the win with #66 Jeric Johnson taking second on his Drx90 and #23 Jordan Leon Guerrero placing third aboard his Drx90.

Kids 70cc Mini Atv class saw #49 Mason Manglona tearing up the class to take a dominating win aboard his Docomo supported Apex70. Placing second was #13 Bernabe Guerrero on his GTR Bobcat Guam supported Drx70. Third place went to #17 Austin Ojeda aboard a Drx70.

Round 11 of the twelve round Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships will be held on Sunday, August 5th at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo free to come out and watch. Gates open at 9am with racing scheduled to start at 1pm.

For more information visit http://www.AtvMotocrossGuam.com or call Bob at 727-5381. Special thanks to RPM Yamaha, Cycles Plus, Kawasaki, Honda, Suzuki, GTR Motorsports, Bobcat Guam, Pine Rental Sevices, Hawaiian Rock Product, Smithbridge International, Shell V-Power and the Guam International Raceway.

Information from a press release.