David John Elected as Chairman of UOG Endowment Foundation Board of Directors


Guam – At their annual organizational board meeting on August 8,  the UOG Endowment Foundation held its election of directors and officers.

The Endowment re-elected its full Board of Directors and retained full membership and elected Mr. David John as Chairman of the Board; former Governor Joseph F. Ada as Vice-Chairman; Mr. George Chiu as Treasurer; and UOG President Dr. Robert A. Underwood as Executive Secretary.

The following individuals were re-elected as members to the Board of Directors: Mr. Jesse Leon Guerrero, Dr. Saied Safabakhsh, Dr. Wilfred P. Leon Guerrero (President Emeritus), Mr. Thomas (Jerry) Calvo, Mrs. Elaine Cruz Jones and Mr. Francisco Q. Taitano. Regent John Arroyo is an ex-officio member of the board representing the UOG Board of Regents.

“It is an honor to be entrusted with the responsibility of the role of chair by my peers on the Endowment board,” said Mr. John. “I look forward to working with the UOG Board of Regents, President Underwood and the University community and alumni to continue the momentous celebration of UOG’s 60th Anniversary and help build a 21st-century campus with our capital campaign.”

“We are excited to work with David John and the Endowment board members as we enter the next year of our five-year capital campaign,” said Mark Mendiola, Executive Director for UOG Endowment Foundation. “There are some much-needed University facility projects that will break ground very soon, and students will soon see a different campus.”

“I am very grateful to Jesse Leon Guerrero for his outstanding leadership as chair this past year,” Mr. John said.

Mr. John graduated from the University of Saint Thomas in St. Paul, Minnesota, and is a regional expert on retirement and investment plans. He is the President of ASC Trust Corporation and is an active member of Guam’s business community.