GDOE on track to be first district in nation to have all schools accredited


Guam – The Guam Department of Education is on track to make history within the nation with the announcement of receiving accreditation for three of its schools from the Western Association of Accrediting Commission.

In addition to the three new schools receiving initial accreditation, 11 other schools also maintained WASC accreditation.

With these new achievements, GDOE announced that they are poised to be the first district in the nation to have all their elementary, middle and high schools accredited through WASC.

But this isn’t the first major WASC milestone they are targeting. In 2015, GDOE became the first district to receive district-level accreditation through WASC.

The three schools to receive initial accreditation are Juan M. Guerrero Elementary, M.U. Lujan Elementary and Merizo Martyrs Memorial Elementary School.

The 11 schools that maintained accreditation for another six years are B.P. Carbullido Elementary School, Daniel L. Perez Elementary School, Lyndon B. Johnson Elementary School, Maria A. Ulloa Elementary School, Ordot Chalan Pago Elementary School, P.C. Lujan Elementary School, Tamuning Elementary School, Jose Rios Middle School, George Washington High School, Okkodo High School, and Tiyan High School.

Another major announcement by GDOE, this month, Superintendent Jon Fernandez was elected to serve as the WASC  Commissioner for the Pacific Islands.