George Chiu Named 2013 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year


Guam – George Chiu, executive vice president of Tan Holdings, was named the 2013 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year at the 31st annual Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year gala held Saturday at the Hyatt Regency Guam.

Chiu, 52, was among 10 nominees on the slate for the annual award program, which recognizes executives who have made outstanding contributions to the local business community and who have raised the bar in his or her field. Chiu is featured in portraiture on the cover of the Guam Business Magazine January-February issue, which was released at the gala concurrently with the announcement of the winner’s name.

Chiu joins past Executive of the Year recipients, who include Robert H. Jones of Triple J Enterprises (1983); John M. Borlas of IT&E Overseas Inc. (1984); Philip J. Flores of BankPacific (1985); Doris Flores Brooks of the Office of Public Accountability (1986); Mark V. Pangilinan of M.V. Pangilinan Enterprises Inc. (1987); Allen A. Pickens of Tax-Aide (1988); the late T. Roy Sullivan of Jones & Guerrero Co. (1989); Kurt S. Moylan of Moylan’s Insurance (1990); Akira “Mike” Baba of Baba Corp. (1991); Paul M. Calvo of Calvo Enterprises Inc. (1992); Antoinette D. Sanford of the Sanford Technology Group (1993); the late Kenneth T. Jones of Jones & Guerrero Co. (1994); the late Edward M. Calvo of Calvo Enterprises Inc. (1995); L. Carl Peterson of Money Resources Inc. (1996); William R. Thompson (1997); John K. Lee of First Hawaiian Bank (1998); the late Henry L. Schnabel of Calvo’s Insurance Underwriters (1999); Marian Aldan-Pierce of DFS Saipan (2000); Manfred H. Pieper of the Conrad Bangkok (2001); Thomas G. Ahillen of Asia Pacific Solutions LLC (2002); Juan T. Guerrero of Herman’s Modern Bakery Inc. (2003); Joey Crisostomo of Cars Plus LLC, Cycles Plus and Payless Car Rental (2004); Joseph “Jerry” Kramer of Pacific International Inc. (2004); David M. Sablan of Century Group of Companies (2005); Alfred C. Ysrael of Tanota Partners (2006); Lee P. Webber of MDA Guam (2007); Laura-Lynn V. Dacanay of First Hawaiian Bank (2008); Jerry Cho Yee Tan of Tan Holdings Inc. (2009); Lourdes A. “Lou” Leon Guerrero of Bank of Guam (2010); Jay R. Shedd of Docomo Pacific (2011); and Jerrold C. Johnson of Hawaiian Rock Products (2012).

The other 2013 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year nominees were: Wayne L. Cornell, president and chief executive officer of DZSP 21; Vincent D. “Ben” Cruz, general manager of the Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort; Ron G. Gonzales, vice president of LYON; John A. Limtiaco, president of Pacific Unlimited Inc,; N. Oscar Miyashita, senior advisor for Ernst & Young; Kaleo S. Moylan, director of Moylan’s Insurance Underwriters; Mary A.Y. Okada, president and CEO of Guam Community College; Torgun E. Smith, executive vice president of Morrico Equipment; and John W. Wade, CEO of Americans Territories for ANZ Guam Inc.