GHRA elects 5 to board of directors

Guam Hotel and Restaurant Association (PNC file photo)

The Guam Hotel & Restaurant Association has elected five new directors for its 2020 board.

Newly elected to serve a two-year term representing the Hotelier Chapter were Mr. Bartley A. Jackson, President, Hotel Santa Fe; Mr. Dean Huntsman, General Manager, Dusit Thani Guam Resort; and Mr. Sudipta Basu, General Manager, Guam Plaza Resort.

Elected to serve a two-year term representing the Restaurateur Chapter was Ms. Marie Guerrero, CEO, Three Squares and B&G Pacific; and elected to serve a two-year term representing the Allied Industry Chapter was Mr. Tae Oh, President, Vantage Advertising.

Holdover directors for the 2020 term include Mr. Jeffrey Schweizer, General Manager of Fiesta Resort Guam, Mr. Toshiro Doi, President and General Manager of LeoPalace Resort Guam, Mr. Frank Kenney, President and Co-Owner of Jamaican Grill Restaurants, and Mr. Edson Lai, Vice President of Sales and Marketing of Quality Distributors Guam.

The primary purposes of GHRA are to promote the highest standards of service and quality in the hotels and restaurants on Guam, advocate just legislation and governmental regulations governing the conduct of business, improve business-community relations through positive interactions with Guam’s citizenry, and publicize the value and benefits of the island’s visitor industry to the territory’s economy.

It is a private, non-profit trade association, which began in 1972, with a small group of hoteliers. GHRA later revised its bylaws to include restaurants and allied members. Today the association has 323 member organizations with nearly 9,000 guest rooms and over 15,000 employees.