Guam EPA Applauds Arrival of Low Sulfur Fuel


Guam –  Following the enactment of Public Law 30-184, Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel (ULSD) is now available on Guam. Containing just 15 Parts Per Million (PPM) of Sulfur, ULSD is a cleaner burning fuel versus the present diesel being used on island at 5,000 PPM.

According to the Guam Environmental Protection Agency (Guam EPA) Task Force Report, the use of ULSD and the newer vehicle technology associated with the fuel is estimated to reduce annual emissions by removing the pollution from more than 90 per cent of today’s trucks and buses when the current heavy-duty vehicle fleet has been completely replaced in 2030.

A ceremony was held Tuesday, January 18, 2011 at the Shell Station in Tumon and hosted by IP&E, the Shell Licensee, to kick off the distribution and sale of ULSD on island. Officials from IP&E were proud to host the event announcing future distribution of ULSD at Shell stations throughout the island.

The benefits of using ULSD extend past the transportation industry, and according to the Guam EPA Task Force Report, ULSD can also be used for stationary applications such as generator use at the Guam Power Authority (GPA) and other back up generator uses.

The legislation was needed to address environmental concerns locally and future impacts from the impending military build up.

Guam EPA Administrator, Ivan Quinata extends his thanks to the ULSD Task Force members for their efforts this past year and contributions to the ULSD Report. For more information, call Gerry Cruz, Guam EPA/Guam Energy Office PIO, at 646-4361.

Guam ULSD Task Force

Peter Cruz                        Connie Affleje                Luong Tuong  Gerry Cruz
Air Pollution Control       Air Pollution Control     Air Pollution Control  Public Information Officer

Program Manager            Program, Guam EPA      Program, Guam EPA Guam EPA
Guam EPA

Bob Perron                                      Michael Mann      Michael Wolfram        Roxanne Johnson
Board Member, Guam EPA             U.S. EPA              U.S. EPA                       U.S. EPA

Manager, Guahan Waste Control

Ed Guthrie                  John J. Cruz, Jr., P.E.        Jennifer Sablan, P.E.         Maria Tison
Deputy Director          Guam Power Authority     Guam Power Authority     Guam Power Authority

DLA Energy Guam

Albert Florencio                            Mark Cruz                                              Stephanie Mendiola
Guam Power Authority                 Guam Contractors Association              Office of Senator Rory Respicio

31st Guam Legislature – Committee on Natural Resources

Michael O’Brien                          Travis Kloppenburg                                  Donald Scott
SGS Guam Inc.                             Guam Hotel & Restaurant Association    Kloppenburg Enterprises

Tammy Jo Anderson Taft
Guam Coastal Management