Guam Shipyard Crowned Futsal Champs



No. 2 Guam Shipyard upset two-time defending champions and top-ranked Rovers FC to claim the championship title of the 2016 Budweiser Futsal League!

HARMON – Guam Shipyard managed to shut down Rovers’ top scorer Ian Mariano and avenged its lone regular-season loss to the Rovers with a 4-3 victory in the league’s title match. Min Sung Choi led Guam Shipyard with two goals and teammates Donald Weakley and Mark Chargualaf also scored in the win. Shawn Spindel, Joseph Crisostomo, and Jonahan Romero each scored once for the Rovers. 

In the league’s consolation match, No. 4 Quality Distributors FC defeated No. 3 Strykers FC 9-2 for a bronze finish in 2016. Scott Leon Guerrero finished with a hat trick and Paul Long put in to two for Quality. Jan-Willem Staman, R.C. Salas, James Bush, and Abraham Hernandez also scored in the win. Shane Healy and Francis Chargualaf scored one each for the Strykers.

Following the evening’s matches, Guam Shipyard accepted the 2016 champions trophy from GFA Executive Committee member George Lai in an awards ceremony at the futsal courts. Lai also presented the league’s Golden Boot trophy to Guam Shipyard’s Mark Chargualaf, who led all scorers in the league with 36 in nine matches of the regular season. Rovers FC goalkeeper David Drews was awarded the league’s Golden Glove award and Crushers FC were recognized with the league’s Fair Play Award. The Crushers finished the 2016 season without any yellow or red cards in nine matches.