Guerrero, Villanueva Double Up On King and Prince Titles


Tamuning, Guam – Keith Guerrero connected a barrage of strikes during the monthly finals of the Budweiser King of the Lanes to give Ricky Duenas a taste of his own medicine and earn his second title of the year.  Guerrero put together 10 strikes in a row as Duenas was only able to match his sixth frame with a final score of 287-151.  Duenas seemed like he was on his way to claiming his second title as he also duplicated the feat in the semi-final round against fellow National Team player and top seed Jay Leon Guerrero 289-214 and stringing eight in a row in the quarter finals against Tim Nauta for a 264-208 victory.  Guerrero outplayed Jim Pinaula 226 to 203 to set up the finals match.

Leon Guerrero paced the competitors in the division with a 1400 series for a 233 average on games of 226, 235, 224, 257, 233 and 225 followed by Guerrero 1359, Jim Pinuala 1243, Manny Tagle 1231, Ricky Duenas 1211, Ray Manibusan 1150, Tim Nauat 1127, Albert Dela Cruz 1113, Brady Duff 1104 and Manny Torre’s 1089 rounded off the top ten who proceeded to the elimination rounds.

[Photo L-R: Keith Guerrero King of the Lanes and Ceasar Villanueva Prince of the Lanes.]

Cesar Villanueva upended both top and second seeds on his way to laying claim to his second Prince of the Lanes title of the year.  Villanueva opened a lead on top seed Von Cabral from the onset of the match and never looked back as he cruised to a 213-186 victory.  In the semi-final match Cabral dismissed Juan Blas 199-139 while Villanueva ousted 2nd seed Jeremiah Camacho 190-172.

Cabral beat out Camacho for pole position with a 1279 total on 126 pins of handicap to 1267 with 156 handicap.  Edward Sabedra finished in third with a 1259 total (174 handicap) followed by Villanueva 1252 (210), Zayne Zamora 1191 (144), Jaesang Lee 1179 (186), Jared Gutierrez 1174 (150), Ken Duenas 1167 (108), Albert Pingul 1152 (78) and Juan Blas’ 1142 (282) rounds off the top ten.

The next Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes will be held on Sunday, October 20, 2013 at 9:30 a.m. at the Central Lanes Bowling Center.


Article from a press release.