Guerrero Wins First Bowling Title


Tamuning, Guam- Keith Guerrero escaped a game Teliann San Nicolas in the finals of the Budweiser King of the Lanes match up.  San Nicolas held a slim lead in the opening frames after taking advantage of a missed spare by Guerrero in the second frame.  Guerrero came storming back with a four bagger to seize the lead but opened on the eighth frame that gave hope to San Nicolas.  With the final stanza left, San Nicolas needed a double to snatch the title; however a high hit to the head pin ended her chances as Guerrero claimed his first title of the year with a 210-193 victory.

In the semi-final matches, top seed Guerrero gummed Greg Borja 215-190 while San Nicolas stoned second seed Joey Miranda III 173-158 to set up the finale.

In the six game qualifier held earlier in the day, Guerrero outlasted Miranda for pole position with a 1228 set, five pins ahead of Miranda’s 1223 who led for most of the day.  Manny Torre finished in third place with a 1197 total followed by Ricky Duenas 1189, Greg Borja 1186, Jay Leon Guerrero 1180, Manny Tagle 1132, Jesse Eyoel 1125, Teliann San Nicolas 1120 and Mike Baleto’s 1075 rounded off the top ten who advanced to the elimination rounds.

Paul Kaneshiro started the battle of FD grads finals match with a double but lost ground missing a single pin leave and split on the following two frames as second seed Cesar Villanueva looked to capitalize after missing a single pin leave of his own on the second frame.  Villanueva took a brief lead with a nine pin handicap advantage after four frames, but returned the favor missing on the fifth frame.  With the match all knotted after five frames Kaneshiro seized the lead with a four bagger then cruised to victory to claim his first Prince title of the year with a 211+26 to 160+35 outting.

The semi-final round went extra frames as Kaneshiro salvaged an early lead to oust top seed John Mercado.  After settling for identical scores of 223, 197+26 to 193+30, Kaneshiro dropped 49 pins to 17 for Mercado.  Second seed Cesar Villanueva slipped past Jared Gutierrez 183+30 to 184+24.

John Mercado led all Prince qualifiers with a 1260 total on 180 pins of handicap followed by Cesar Villanueva 1223 (210 handicap), Leody Ersando 1191 (90), Arlene Taitague 1189 (108), Paul Kaneshiro 1172 (156), Eric Pinaula 1168 (162), Shellee Javier 1159 (102), Albert Pingul 1142 (78), Jared Gutierrez 1142 (114), while Erwin Aguilar’s 1138 (90) rounded off the top ten.

The next Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes will be held on Sunday, June 9, 2013 at 11:00 a.m. at the Central Lanes Bowling Center.

Article from a press release.