GVB Awards Tak Takano of DFS the Golden Latte Award


Guam –  DFS Guam Vice President, Travel Industry Marketing Tak Takano was awarded the prestigious Golden Latte Award for outstanding personal and direct service in the Guam visitor industry on Friday, May 27 at the Guam Visitors Bureau (GVB) Excellence in Tourism Awards.

The luncheon, held at Hyatt Regency Guam, is an annual tradition to honor those who’ve made exceptional contributions to the island’s visitor industry.

[Winners of the 2011 Excellence in Tourism Awards gather at the annual ceremony Friday, May 27 at Hyatt Regency Guam. Special recipients accepted awards for both Golden Latte honoree Tak Takano son Michael Takano, pictured in front row, fourth from left) and special recognition recipient Cencio Tan C. Vy (Benson employee Manito Co, pictured front row, sixth from left]

Takano garners more than 30 years of service at DFS as a travel retail industry executive. He serves on the GVB Japan Marketing and Korean Marketing committees and has been instrumental in GVB initiatives including development of website marketing, public relations, and the annual Holiday Illumination display.

Many others were honored with HERO (Hospitality Employees Are Outstanding) awards, recognizing those employees that make a day-to-day difference in visitor experiences including everyone from customer service representatives to hotel maintenance department workers.

“These employees – whether they work in the maintenance departments at our island’s hotels or in the kitchen at our restaurants – are the backbone of our visitor industry,” said GVB General Manager Joann Camacho. “It is our pleasure to give them some of the recognition they deserve.”

Also receiving special recognition by GVB for his contributions to Guam was Cencio Tan C. Vy of Benson Guam, which has been an instrumental force in creation of the village murals.

A full list of Excellence in Tourism Awards winners is as follows:

Most Outstanding Local Tourism Facility/Attraction in 2010

o Fisherman’s Cove Restaurant – Hilton Guam Resort & Spa

Most Outstanding Local Tourism Promotion/Project/Event in 2010

o Portrait of Guam, U.S.A., Volume II – Guahan Resources

Most Outstanding Promotion Overseas in 2010

o Asian Market (Taiwan, Hong Kong Development) – Watabe Guam, Inc.

Hafa Adai Spirit

o Chamorro Month Activities – Guam Reef Hotel

HERO (Hospitality Employees Are Outstanding) (Non-supervisory)

o Adelaida V. Miguel – DFS Guam

o Andrist B. Mereb – The Westin Resort Guam

o Carina Escobar – Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort

o Chisany Sanchez – DFS Guam

o Chona Celoso – Hyatt Regency Guam

o Elda W. Salandanan – Hilton Guam Resort & Spa

o Francine Duenas – DFS Guam

o Grace B. Reyes – Hilton Guam Resort & Spa

o James A. Dela Paz – The Westin Resort Guam

o John M. Fernandez – Lam Lam Tours & Transportation

o Ma. Teresa F. Manansala – The Westin Resort Guam

o Malissa Carriaga – Mandara Spa Guam

o Novelyn Basaliza – Guam Plaza Hotel

o Pelagia P. Buot – DFS Guam

o Perla Chua – Fiesta Resort Guam

o Reiko Bachman – Tiffany & Co.

o Steven Finona – Pacific Islands Club

o Teresita Mallari – JP Superstore

Middle Management

o Alfred Arazas – PMT Guam Corporation

o Aliphios J. Kannys – Hotel Nikko Guam

o Chito G. De Guzman – Guam Reef Hotel

o Christopher Campos – Hilton Guam Resort & Spa

o David A. San Nicolas – Micronesia Mall

o Eugene Escuadra – The Westin Resort Guam

o Gemalyn Bambao – JP Superstore

o Gerald Paule – Watabe Guam Inc.

o Jeffrey Serrano – Outrigger Guam Resort

o Jose “Jay” Perez – Pacific Islands Club

o Josemari “Jom” Urbano – Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort

o Kristopher Cabral – Outrigger Guam Resort

o Leiholani Sehardimal – Tarza Waterpark

o Paul Ofalla – Hilton Guam Resort & Spa

o Suharto – Hyatt Regency Guam

o Susanta Biswal – Hyatt Regency Guam

o Suteibu-Ryuta “Steve” Oku – Pacific Islands Club

o Taiichi Takabatake – Mandara Spa Guam

Rookie of the Year

o Crystal Halmi – Hilton Guam Resort & Spa

o Genie Gerardo – Mandara Spa Guam

o Yoshiki Jimmy Sato – Fiesta Resort Guam