Jeff Jones Named 2015 Executive of The Year


The award was given during the annual Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year gala on Saturday night. 

Jeffrey B. Jones named

2015 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year


            TUMON, Guam — Jeffrey B. Jones, president and chief operating officer of Triple J Enterprises Inc., was named the 2015 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year at the  annual Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year award gala held tonight at the Hyatt Regency Guam.

The annual Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year gala is a fundraising event for the Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross. This year’s event drew approximately 400 people.

            Born and raised on Guam, Jones, 52, is a graduate of Father Duenas Memorial School. He holds a 1985 bachelor’s in business from the University of North Carolina. He began working for the family business at the age of 12.

Triple J Enterprises began as a small apartment rental business, followed by the acquisition of the Subaru franchise in 1984 from J&G and the launch of Triple J Motors. A Saipan office opened in 1985, and Triple J began expanding through Micronesia. In 1987 Jones opened and operated Thrifty Car Rental.

He became general manager of Triple J Motors in 1990. While leading that operation, he added several brands to the vehicle portfolio including Isuzu, Mitsubishi and Suzuki. Jones also planned and developed the Triple J Tire business.

In 2000, Jones was promoted to executive vice president. Under his leadership, the automotive division continued expansion with the addition of the Ford, Mazda and Volvo brands, as well as the development of Triple J’s dealership and headquarters in Upper Tumon, which opened in 2006. That growth was followed by the acquisition of Honda and Acura, as well as the Hertz Rent-a-Car franchise.

            Jones was promoted to his current position in the company in 2012. The Triple J group of companies includes Triple J Auto Group, Triple J Food Group, Triple J Restaurant Group and Triple J Real Estate & Development Group.

            He is 2015 chairman of the board of directors of the Guam Chamber of Commerce and 2014 to 2015 president of the USO Guam Advisory Council. He serves on the leadership board of Bayview Church as well as the board of Pacific Mission Aviation. As the American Red Cross Guam Chapter’s 2015 Red Ball chairman, he raised a record $250,000 for the chapter’s endeavors. Jones and his wife, R. Jane Jones, have five children: Jessica, 19; Jonah, 17; Jasmine, 14; Jada, 11; and Josiah, 9.Jones is featured in portraiture on the cover of the Guam Business Magazine January-February issue, which was released at the gala.

Jones joined seven other executives  in vying for the prestigious award: Benson F.F. Au-Yeung, president, Soft Pacific Inc., which does business as Benz Sign Supplies and Paradise Awning; Lynn S. Baker, president and general manager, Baker International Inc., which does business as J.L. Baker & Sons; Andrew M. Gayle Jr., chief operating officer, GTA; Lars F. Hellmont, co-owner, Fujita Property Guam Inc., and co-founder, SN Entities; Angel C. Mendoza, president and general manager, DKSH Micronesia; Mark J. Sablan, vice president – business development, South Pacific Petroleum Corp.; and Anthony John Sage, vice president and general manager, Watts Constructors LLC.

Past Executive of the Year recipients include Robert H. Jones of Triple J Enterprises (1983); John M. Borlas of IT&E Overseas Inc. (1984); Philip J. Flores of BankPacific (1985); Doris Flores Brooks of the Office of Public Accountability (1986); Mark V. Pangilinan of M.V. Pangelinan Enterprises Inc. (1987); Allen A. Pickens of Tax-Aide (1988); the late T. Roy Sullivan of Jones & Guerrero Co. (1989); Kurt S. Moylan of Moylan’s Insurance (1990); Akira “Mike” Baba of Baba Corp. (1991); Paul M. Calvo of Calvo Enterprises Inc. (1992); Antoinette D. Sanford of  Sanford Technology Group (1993); the late Kenneth T. Jones of Jones & Guerrero Co. (1994); the late Edward M. Calvo of Calvo Enterprises Inc. (1995); L. Carl Peterson of Money Resources Inc. (1996); William R. Thompson (1997); John K. Lee of First Hawaiian Bank (1998); the late Henry L. Schnabel of Calvo’s Insurance Underwriters (1999); Marian Aldan-Piercen of DFS Saipan (2000); Manfred H. Pieper of the Conrad Bangkok (2001); Thomas G. Ahillen of Asia Pacific Solutions LLC (2002);  Juan T. Guerrero of Herman’s Modern Bakery Inc. (2003); Joey Crisostomo of Cars Plus LLC, Cycles Plus and Payless Car Rental (2004); Joseph “Jerry” Kramer of Pacific International Inc. (2004); David M. Sablan of Century Group of Companies (2005); Alfred C. Ysrael of Tanota Partners (2006); Lee P. Webber of MDA Guam(2007); Laura-Lynn V. Dacanay of First Hawaiian Bank (2008); Jerry Cho Yee Tan of Tan Holdings Inc. (2009); Lourdes A. “Lou” Leon Guerrero of Bank of Guam (2010); Jay R. Shedd of Docomo Pacific (2011); Jerrold C. Johnson of Hawaiian Rock Products (2012); George Chiu of Tan Holdings (2013); and Norman T. Tenorio of Joeten Enterprises Inc. and Pacifica Insurance Underwriters Inc. on Saipan (2014).

            The following sponsors are thanked for their contributions and assistance: T Galleria by DFS, Delta Air Lines, Shimbros Inc., Hyatt Regency Guam, Quality Distributors, Coca-Cola Beverage Co., Foremost Foods Inc. and Sorensen Media Group.