Jesse Leon Guerrero Elected Chair of UOG Endowment Foundation


Guam – During its annual organizational meeting on June 1, the UOG Endowment Foundation elected Jesse A. Leon Guerrero Chairman of the Board of Directors. Former Governor Joseph F. Ada was elected vice-chairman;  George Chiu as treasurer; and UOG President Dr. Robert A. Underwood as executive secretary.

Dr. Saied Safabakshs, MD., Dr. Wilfred P. Leon Guerrero (President Emeritus), Mr. Thomas (Jerry) Calvo, Mr. David John and Mr. Francisco Q. Taitano were re-elected to the Board of Directors. Regent John Arroyo is an ex-officio member of the board representing the UOG Board of Regents.

[Jesse Leon Guerrero]


Newly elected chair Leon Guerrero stated, “I am indeed honored to serve as chairman and, on behalf of the board, wish to extend our deepest appreciation to Dr. Safa for his service as chairman during the past year. We look forward to working with the UOG Board of Regents, the president, the university community and alumni to meet the goals of our institution.”

UOG Endowment Foundation Executive Director Mark Mendiola stated, “The Endowment Foundation family and the UOG community anticipate a productive year in planning and implementing the University of Guam’s successful 60th anniversary celebration in 2012 in collaboration with the entire university community.”

“The university community is truly appreciative of the support we have received from the UOG Endowment Foundation over the years. They play a vital role in enhancing the programs and services at UOG,” said UOG President Dr. Robert A. Underwood. “They provide a critical link to our community and help us develop and expand community support for UOG. Chairman Leon Guerrero, Vice-Chair Governor Ada, and the entire UOG Endowment Foundation will continue fulfill their mission to support the University of Guam.”

The University of Guam Endowment Foundation’s mission is “To foster and promote the growth, progress and general welfare of the University of Guam.”