Miranda, Catbagan nab Budweiser July King and Prince titles


Sunday, July 16, 2012 – CENTRAL LANES BOWLING CENTER, Tamuning, Guam – Both finales featured exciting finishes that climaxed in the ninth frame where the winning competitor avoided mishaps to claim their respective titles.

Joey Miranda III and Ray Manibusan battled neck to neck throughout the first eight frames in a rematch of the February finals.  Tables turned in the ninth frame when top seed Manibusan’s Fringe encroached the head pin leaving a 4-9 split that allowed Miranda breathing room going into the final stanza.  Manibusan still had hope as he struck on the first throw of the last frame but was unable to double on the next throw and was left waiting and hoping that Miranda falters in the final stanza.  With the game at the hands of the veteran player, Miranda calmly delivered a pocket shot on the tenth frame hitting a nine pin count which was all that he needed to secure the game and even their title series to one a piece.  A spare and strike in the fill frame sealed Miranda’s victory 201-186 in the battle of the aged.

Manibusan and Miranda secured their finale slots beating out their younger semi-final foes.  Manibusan overcame an early mishap along with and a strong start by 5th seed Jonathan Duenas but took advantage of miscues by the lower seed to dispatch Duenas with a 216-180 decision.  Miranda opened an early lead that he sustained throughout the game eliminating 4th seed Gavin Baker 203-178.

Manibusan led all qualifiers with a 1267 six game total bowling a high game of 277 while Miranda finished 34 pins behind with a 1233 total.  Ricky Duenas qualified as the third seed on 1180 pins followed by Baker 1141, Duenas 1123, Duane Camacho 1111, Tim Nauta 1098, John Raymundo 1095, JD Castro 1093 and Jayson Viray rounding off the top ten with a 1079 total.

Prince of the Lanes top seed Cherrlyn Catbagan also claimed her title in the same fashion as Miranda. A ninth frame mishap by third seed Paul Kaneshiro opened the doors for Catbagan as she jumped all over the opened frame winning the match 183+32 to 162+35.

In the semi-final round, Catbagan cruised by 7th seed Thelma Arriola 152+32 to 114+36 while Kaneshiro dashed second seed David Esplana’s hopes of making the finals with a 171+35 to 144+27 drubbing of the higher seed.  Kaneshiro earned his entry into the semi-final round by defeating back to back and reigning monthly champion Leody Ersando 144+35 to 113+29 in the quarter final round.

Catabagan surged to the top in the six game qualifier with a 1306 total on 192 pins of handicap followed by Esplana’s 1268 (162), Kaneshiro 1200 (210), Ersando 1184 (174), Ruben Torres 1177 (144), Steve Esplana 1174 (102), Arriola 1173 (216), Arlene Taitague 1169 (150), Hye Yeon Chang 1156 (198) and Jhun Viray’s 1146 (90) capped off the top ten.

The next Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes will be held on Sunday, August 19, 2012 at 11:00 a.m.

Photo: Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes winners (L-R)  King Joey Miranda III and Princess Cherrylyn Catbagan.

Information from a press release.