National Academy Names 2012 Award Recipients and 2013 Roster


Guam – Isabella Rodriguez and Jonathan Sevilla were recently selected as Jamaican Grill Guam Football Association 2012 National Academy Girls and Boys Player of the Cycle, respectively, and received their awards at a recognition ceremony at the Jamaican Grill Dededo location.

Rodriguez and Sevilla, selected by program directors and coaches, each received award certificates and Jamaican Grill dining certificates to acknowledge their individual achievements in the elite program. Also recognized was coach Brett Maluwelmeng, voted as the Jamaican Grill Guam Football Association 2012 National Academy Coach of the Cycle. New players and coaches will be recognized at the conclusion of each of the four program cycles in one year.

[Isabella Rodriguez and Jonathan Sevilla were recently selected and officially recognized as the Jamaican Grill Guam Football Association 2012 National Academy Girls and Boys Players of the Cycle, respectively, for their individual development in the elite program at the Jamaican Grill Dededo location. Pictured are from left, Dominic Gadia, 2012 National Academy Boys Director, Kristin Thompson, 2012 National Academy Girls Director, Sevilla, Rodriguez, and Jamaican Grill’s Frank Kenney.]

Rodriguez and Sevilla both return to the annual program following their selection during the 2013 National Academy tryouts. Hundreds of youth soccer players tried out for the 2013 edition of the program, held late last month by program coaches, with only a handful selected for the elite program. Selected with Rodriguez to the 2013 National Academy Girls program are Madiera Abril, Maria Calvo, Luella Cramer, Olivia Haddock, Jada Han, Kaylie Pinaula and Emily Sherman in the U8 division, Janae Cabrera, Kaeliah Guerrero, Samantha Kenney, Jadyn Riley Palomares, Minami Rabago and Maria Jean Taitano in the U10 division, and Isabella Bass, Hannah Cruz, Vanessa Cruz, Celine Doronila, Alyssa Dumlao, Sina “Ella” Eisenhardt, Samantha Fegurgur, Jenna Han, Zaria Johnson, Sabrina Kenney, Kate Levy, Shyann Roberto, Chloe Salas, Mia San Nicolas, Paige Simard, Erin Wang and Jenna Young in the U12 division.

Accepted and confirmed into the boys program with Sevilla are Anthony Chaco, Bryce Luttrell, Erwin Manibusan, Joel Martin, Vance Meno, Landon Miles, Nathan Morgan, Rinrao Nishioka, Jason Palomares, Misato Rabago, Riley Rama, Miguel Rodriguez, Raif Sablan, Xander Sanchez, Carl Takano and Alessander Vavra in the U8 division, Kane Aricayos, Benjamin Borja, Jeremy Collado, Cristian Cruz, Javian Cruz, Otto Eisenhardt, Robert Haddock, Maxwell Heckler, Christian Kido, Andrew Kilgore, Ryan Lee, Davis Levy, Wyatt Luttrell, Yuuto Marchal, Jeremiah Nguyen, Kai Pahl, Connor Peoples, Steven Perez, Zion Quitugua, Ethan Sablan, Nathan Sherman, Anthony Simon, Kyle Takano, Sergio Vavra, and Joshua Young in the U10 division and Kein Artero, Colin Chico, Damian Dayton, Tyler Hilliard, James Lee, Michael Lee, Ricky Macias, Shaun Paul Martinez, Diether Messner, Gabriel Tan and Niclas Vavra in the U12 division.

As part of the educational portion of the program, Lindsey Adams and Jennifer Johnson have joined as official tutors for the 2013 National Academy.

The first cycle of the 2013 GFA National Academy begins Tuesday.