New FSM President, Vice President elected

From left: Aren Palik, FSM Vice President; and FSM President Wesley Simina. Photo courtesy of the Office of the FSM National Government

In regional news, the Federated States of Micronesia has a new president and vice president.

The 23rd Congress of the FSM started its first regular session in Pohnpei on May 11, according to the National Government of the Federated States of Micronesia. 

The FSM Congress elected its new president and new vice president of the FSM, during its first day. 

The new and 10th president of the FSM is Wesley Simina. He was elected the Senator At-Large for Chuuk State, prior to his presidential election. 

Simina succeeds David Panuelo, who served as president of the FSM from 2019 to 2023. 

Aren Palik was elected the new vice president. He is the ninth vice president. Prior to being vice president, he was the elected Senator At-Large for Kosrae State. 

In mid-September 2022, Palik was elected to replace Yosiwo George, who died at the age of 81 in August 2022, after being hospitalized for COVID-19. George was the eighth vice president, who served from 2015 to the day of his death on August 14, 2022.