New Mayors Council of Guam president promises more cooperation

MCOG President and Piti Mayor Jesse Alig. (PNC file photo)

The Mayors Council of Guam held its election of officers Tuesday to kick off the new year. This time, the body selected Piti Mayor Jesse Alig to head the council.

With a vote of 14 to 11, it was a tight race between incumbent MCOG President Dededo Mayor Melissa Savares and incoming President Piti Mayor Jesse Alig who served as Treasurer during the past term.

Meanwhile, Sinajana Mayor Robert Hoffmann, who previously held the position of Vice President, was reelected by the body.

Finally rounding up the new council leadership team, Tamuning Mayor Louise Rivera was elected Secretary, Agat Mayor Kevin Susuico Treasurer, and Barrigada Vice Mayor Jessie Bautista as Sgt. of Arms.

The newly-elected officers were sworn in Tuesday by outgoing president Melissa Savares.

The new president also shared his priorities as head of the council, saying that village mayors are bound by similar issues — from feral animals, abandoned vehicles to infrastructure problems.

Loading the player...

“Just to be more cohesive. We always talk about working together but we really don’t work together. Again, reaching beyond party lines, reaching beyond our differences, and getting the job done for our people. Like I said, we all have these complaints but we don’t talk about resolving them,” Alig said.

During the meeting, the body went into executive session and voted to let current Executive Director Angel Sablan continue his role with the council.

The members of the council — 19 mayors and 7 vice mayors — were sworn in on Monday in a ceremony that was described as simple but historic.


Previous article13 new COVID-19 cases; CAR score 0.9
Next articleRestoration of Separation of Powers Act introduced
Louella Losinio is PNC's News Director for TV and Digital Media. She was a former reporter for the Marianas Variety (Guam Edition) and the Guam Daily Post, former editor-in-chief and co-founder of the Pacific Island Times, As a freelance writer, she has contributed content to various regional and local publications such as the Marianas Business Journal, Guam Business Magazine, The Guamanian, and Island Times. Aside from her decade-long experience in the media and print industry, Louella has experience in technical writing, education, and nonprofit management.