Rovers DI Celebrate GFA Cup Championship


Guam – The Rovers DI proudly hoist the GFA Cup championship trophy with Guam Football Association Executive Committee member Gian Tenorio and William N. Li, Assistant Vice President and Marketing Officer with Bank of Guam during an awards ceremony following the team’s 4-3 win over Table 35/Fuji Ichiban Espada FC in the Bank of Guam 7th Annual GFA Cup championship match at the GFA National Training Center.

Jason Cunliffe, Natsuki Recella, Yaw Antwi-Agyei, and David McCallum scored for the Rovers DI. Dominic Gadia scored twice, and brother Andre Gadia once for Espada.

The Rovers DI become only the third team to win the GFA Cup and the second consecutive Budweiser Soccer League Division I champion to secure the tournament trophy.

Matao captain Jason Cunliffe has played for each of those three teams at least once that have hoisted the championship trophy. He scored a goal with Quality Distributors FC in 2008 for the title in the inaugural year, scored a hat trick for 2010 winners Guam Shipyard, the game-winning goal in extra time for Guam Shipyard in 2012 and scored once on a penalty kick for the Rovers DI in 2014.

Also receiving awards following the GFA Cup final match were winning teams from the recently concluded Budweiser Soccer League. The Rovers DI captured the BSL Division I championship trophy and Jason Cunliffe also was recognized as one of two winners of the division’s Golden Boot.

Ashton Surber from the Southern Cobras also was recognized with the Golden Boot award. Espada was recognized at the division’s Fair Play award winner. For Division II, the IP&E/Paradise Fitness Sidekicks were honored with the division championship and the Sidekicks’ Shawn Spindel also was one of two Division II Golden Boot award winners.

Kevin Tainatongo of Big Blue Division II was the other recipient of the DII Golden Boot Award. The Pago Bay Disasters won the Division II Fair Play Award. In the BSL Masters Division, Hyundai Family FC swept all awards – the division championship and the Fair Play Award. Hyundai’s Se Lim also won the division’s Golden Boot award.