Strykers FC Take Beach Soccer Championship


The Strykers were presented the league’s championship trophy following the final match.

HARMON – Strykers FC was crowned 2016 Land Shark Beach Soccer League champion after defeating Quality Distributors in the final via a penalty kick shootout at the Guam Football Association National Training Center beach soccer court Sunday.

After the teams battled to a 3-3 draw through to extra time, the Strykers edged Quality 3-2 in the ensuing shootout.

League Golden Boot winner Jan-Willem Staman put Quality ahead with a successful shot as the first shooter, but Strykers’ Dominic Gadia evened the shootout score with a goal past Quality keeper Brett Maluwelmeng. Strykers’ goalkeeper Ross Awa managed to stop Quality’s next shot by Scott Leon Guerrero and Awa’s teammate Ajay Pothen followed with a successful shot to put the Strykers ahead in the shootout. Quality’s final kicker, Takefumi Inoue found the back of the net to level the shootout score, but a successful shot by the Strykers’ final kicker, Francis Chargualaf, sealed his team’s victory.

In regular time, Chargualaf scored twice for the Strykers and teammate Justin Crawford also scored. Kevin Knaeble scored twice for Quality and teammate Jan-Willem Staman also scored.

In the consolation match, Doosan FC claimed third place with a 10-5 win over the Crushers FC. Thomas Medler scored four for Doosan and teammate Brandon Andrada scored twice. Leeray Zapatos, James Mendiola, Felix Fontanilla, and Donovan Alger also scored in the win. Sho Hammond finished with a hat trick for the Crushers and teammates Robert Prieto and Ryan Shipman also scored.

In the semifinal matches held earlier in the day, the Strykers edged defending champions Crushers 8-6 with two goals each from Gadia, Chargualaf, and Stanley Rice. Pothen and Crawford also scored in the win. Joshua Pangelinan finished with a hat trick for the Crushers and Prieto, Justin Samonte, and Jonathan Guerrero also scored.

In the other semifinal match, Quality defeated Doosan 6-3 with five goals from Staman. Jared Pangindian also scored for Quality. Zapatos, Cyle Tass, and Cameron Lunod scored for Doosan.

The Strykers were presented the league’s championship trophy following the final match. Also recognized in the awards ceremony were Staman, the league’s Golden Boot winner and Maluwelmeng, the league’s Golden Glove winner. Staman scored 19 goals in 6 regular season matches. Quality allowed the least goals during the regular season – only 20 in 6 matches – with Maluwelmeng as the team’s primary keeper.