Three From Guam Confirmed to FIFA Committees


Guam – Guam continues to increase its presence with key posts in new FIFA committees as confirmed during the 2013 FIFA Congress held earlier this month in Mauritius.

Richard Lai, president of Guam Football Association, was voted as the Asian Football Confederation representative in FIFA’s Audit and Compliance committee, which “has been established with the typical supervisory role of an audit committee and the additional responsibilities of a compliance program, as well as compensation and benefits,” the FIFA Web site states. The Audit and Compliance Committee is chaired by Italy’s Domenico Scala. South Africa’s Sindi Mabaso-Koyana is the committee’s deputy chairwoman. Lai joins CONMEBOL’s Romer Osuna from Bolivia, CAF’s Suketu Patel of Seychelles, OFC’s Rajesh Patel of Fiji, CONCACAF’s Canover Watson of the Cayman Islands and UEFA’s Allan Hansen of Denmark.

In the AFC, Lai also is part of the Executive Committee and is the AFC Chairman of both the Finance and Futsal & Beach Soccer committees. Lai is part of the AFC Financial Assistance Program Committee and the 2015 Asian Cup Organizing Committee. In EAFF, Lai is part of the Executive Committee and is the Finance Committee Chairman. Locally, Lai is the GFA President and Chairman of the Men’s Committee.

Also confirmed during the FIFA Congress was the division of the Ethics Committee into two chambers – the investigatory and adjudicatory chambers. Guam’s Chief Justice Robert Torres has been confirmed as a member of FIFA’s Ethics Committee’s investigatory chamber. The investigatory chamber is chaired by the United States’ Michael Garcia, with Switzerland’s Cornel Borbely as deputy chairman. Torres joins CONMEBOL’s Jorge Ivan Palacio of Colombia, CAF’s Ahmed Ould Abderrahmane of Mauritania, OFC’s Nik Davidson of New Zealand, CONCACAF’s Vanessa Allard of Trinidad and Tobago and UEFA’s Noel Le Graet of France. Torres also is part of the AFC Legal Committee.

Guam Atty. F. Randall Cunliffe was confirmed as one of two AFC representatives in FIFA’s Appeal Committee, joining the United Arab Emirates’ Abdul Rahman Lootah. Other members include CAF’s Ahmad of Madagascar and Tourqui Salim of Comoros, CONCACAF’s Victor Garza of Mexico and Oliver Smith of Turks and Caicos Islands, CONMEBOL’s Laureano Gonzalez of Venezuela and Bolivia’s Edgar Pena, OFC’s Dan Kakaraya of Papua New Guinea and Samuel Ram of Fiji, and UEFA’s Leo Windtner of Austria and Faroe Islands’ Christian Andreasen. The committee is chaired by Larry Mussenden of Bermuda, with Argentina’s Fernando Mitjans as deputy chairman.

Cunliffe also is the chairman of the AFC Appeals Committee.