United States included in expanded Philippine travel ban

The Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs. (Photo from the DFA Facebook account)

The United States, including Guam and the CNMI, has been included in the expanded travel ban instituted by the Philippine government in lieu of the spread worldwide of the new COVID-19 strain.

The new strain of COVID-19 has already been reported in the United States, most recently in California and Florida.

According to the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), non-Filipino citizens who have directly come from or who have entered the banned countries within the last 14 days (with 3 January 2021 as effectivity date for passengers from the US) will temporarily be restricted from entering the Philippines until Jan.15.

This applies notwithstanding previous visa status and past IATF approval of exemptions.

Apart from the United States, the other countries covered by the ban are Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, SAR, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Switzerland, Singapore, Sweden South Korea, South Africa, Spain, and The Netherlands.

Filipino citizens abroad are allowed to return to the Philippines but will be quarantined in the Philippines for 14 days even if they have a negative COVID test result.