University of Guam Faculty Member Receives Fulbright Specialists Award


Guam – Dr. Richard W. Fee, Associate Professor of Special Education at the University of Guam, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Philippines at the University of Santo Tomas – Faculty of Medicine during 2011-2012 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Over the next 12 months, Dr. Fee will provide technical assistance and post-graduate training courses in the education of deaf children at the University of Santo Tomas – Faculty of Medicine. This innovative research and training project will explore methods for creating early intervention services and auditory centers to assist deaf children in urban and rural areas throughout the country. Dr. Fee will also assist in preparing and supporting special education and regular classroom teachers to accept over 3,000 poor deaf children who were recently given free hearing aids. There will be three two-week onsite experiences at UST over the year.  The University of Santo Tomas, one of the most prestigious universities in the Philippines, recently celebrated its 400th anniversary, making it the oldest university in Asia.  

[Dr. Norberto V. Martinez, M.D., Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery • University of Santo Tomas –Faculty of Medicine and Surgery  and Dr. Richard W. Fee, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Special Education, University of Guam]

Dr. Fee is one of 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.  

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women’s Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.