UOG master’s students to host political status forum this Saturday

Attorney General of Guam Leevin Camacho, right, and U.S. Magistrate Judge Joaquin Manibusan Jr. of the District Court of Guam, sit on a law-focused panel about Guam’s political status for the University Guam’s 40th Presidential Lecture Series in May 2019. (Photo courtesy of University of Guam)

The Administrative Law (PA-540) class of the University of Guam’s Master of Public Administration program will be hosting a virtual political status forum at 11 a.m. this Saturday titled “Guam’s Political Status: Where We Are Now and Where We Can Be Tomorrow.”

The forum comes on the heels of H.R. 1 (For the People Act of 2021) and H.R. 2070 and S. 865, both relative to the self-determination of Puerto Rico, which were introduced in Congress earlier this year seeking to address injustices in the U.S. territories and as Guam continues to explore self-determination and decolonization. The forum seeks to foster discussion and a better understanding of the insular cases and their implications to the U.S. territories and, specifically, Guam.

The panelists and guest speakers will consist of political and legal experts as well as scholars who will help guide the discussion.


Lou Leon Guerrero, Governor of Guam
Anita Sukola, Retired Judge of the Superior Court of Guam
Leevin Camacho, Attorney General of Guam
Carlyle Corbin, International Advisor on Self-Governance and Former United Nations Representative from the U.S. Virgin Islands
Robert A. Underwood, President Emeritus of the University of Guam
Ronald L. McNinch, Associate Professor of Public Administration at the University of Guam

Special Guests:

Thomas W. Krise, President of the University of Guam
Annette T. Santos, Dean of UOG’s School of Business and Public Administration
John Rivera, Program Director of UOG’s Master of Public Administration Program
Neil Weare, President and Founder of Equally American

The virtual forum will take place from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. this Saturday, May 8. Those interested in tuning in may register at http://bit.ly/UOGMPA-PA540.

For more information, contact Natasha Suba at suban@gotritons.uog.edu, Kdee Takawo at takawok@gotritons.uog.edu, or Kara Remeliik remeliikk@triton.uog.edu.

(UOG Release)