VIDEO: Baker, Kaneshiro Are Nov. King and Prince


Tamuning, Guam – Gavin Baker and Paul Kaneshiro solidified their slots for the Grand Finals of the Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes after being crowned champions of their respective divisions.

Baker defeated Victor San Nicolas 207-167 in the King of the Lanes while Kaneshiro ousted Dioni Borja 203-167 for the Prince title.  Baker took full control of the King’s match from the onset as San Nicolas was unable to find his strike target and never looked back.  In contrast, Borja took the early lead in the Prince division but Kaneshiro punched out from the eighth frame to pull away from Borja and claim his first ever title.

In the semi-final round San Nicolas out struck top seed Jay Leon Guerrero 210-165 while 2nd seed Baker slipped past Duane Camacho 215-206 to set up the King’s finale.  The Prince semi-finals saw the top two seed advance as top seed Borja out bowled Jeremiah Camacho 191+33 to 126+36 and Kaneshiro battered the pins against Melanie Cruz 199+35 to 137+44.

Leon Guerrero led all competitors in the six game qualifier held earlier in the day with a 1245 total followed by Baker’s 1237. Ricky Duenas’ 298 last game landed him in third with a 1229 total dropping Duane Camacho to fourth with a 1219 series.  Dante Godoy finished in fifth on 1192 pins followed by Victor San Nicolas 1168, Manny Tagle 1138, Timothy Nauta 1131, Howard Taylor 1118 and Benny Budano Jr. 1106.

Dioni Borja held off Paul Kaneshiro in the qualifying rounds by a margin of three pins 1325 (198 handicap) to 1322(210) in the Prince Division inclusive of handicap.  Melanie Cruz popped in at third on 1268 (264) pins followed by Arnold Javier 1268 (132), Erwin Aguilar 1240 (144), Jeremiah Camacho 1238 (216), David Esplana 1219 (162), Leody Ersando 1201 (174), Michael Woodrome 1196 (162) and Rick Ada Jr.’s 1184 (162) rounded off the top ten.

The Grand Finale will be held on Sunday, December 23, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. at the Central Lanes Bowling Center featuring the monthly champions with the remaining slots awarded to the defending champion along with the top points achievers for the year.  Camacho highlights the year end finals alongside monthly winners Ray Manibusan, Baker, Joey Miranda III, Jay Leon Guerrero, Dante Godoy, Ray San Nicolas, Keith Guerrero and Tyler Bishop.  Greg Borja, Teliann San Nicolas, Ricky Duenas, JD Castro, Victor San Nicolas, Manny Tagle and Tim Nauta qualify through the points system.

The Prince finalists include monthly winners Leody Ersando, Amber San Nicolas, Erwin Aguilar, Arlene Taitague, Paul Kaneshiro, Nick Gutierrez and Cherrylyn Catbagan while Von Cabral, Maddison Willis, Steve Esplana, Shannon Bukikosa, Hye Yeon Chang, Kennedy Robinson, Thela Arriola, David Esplana and Edward Sabedra qualify through the points system.