VIDEO: Good Knights Keep Soccer Trophy


Harmon, Guam – The St. John’s School Knights repeated as champions of the IIAAG Boys High School Soccer League, this time coming from behind to post a 2-1 upset win over the No. 1-ranked Southern High School Dolphins Saturday evening at the Guam Football Association National Training Center in front of over 1,000 spectators.

The Knights’ Christian Schweizer scored the eventual game-winning goal in the 50th minute, connecting on a free kick from teammate Cedric Sevilla, breaking a 1-1 tie from the first half. The Knights earned the free kick after a hand ball was called on the Dolphins following a throw-in. The Knights defense – led by All-Island first team goalkeeper and championship game MVP Reed Meyer, who picked up key saves throughout the match – was able to hold down the Southern attack through to the final whistle.

In the first half, Southern High opened scoring early, as Eddie Lee Lorenzo capitalized on a corner kick to put the Dolphins up 1-0 just three minutes into the game.  Lorenzo almost repeated the play on another corner kick just a few moments later, but the Knights managed to clear the ball to momentarily stop the Dolphin attack.

About 10 minutes later on the other end of the field, aggressive play by the Dolphins resulted in a foul called in the penalty box. Sevilla’s successful shot to the right corner of the goal in the ensuing penalty kick knotted the match at 1-1. From then, neither team could find the back of the net for the remainder of the half.

The defending champion Knights, coming into the playoffs ranked No. 3, finally tasted victory over the Dolphins this season after battling to a 1-1 draw the first week of November.

In the day’s earlier game, the Father Duenas Memorial School Friars upset the George Washington High School Geckos 3-1 to claim third place. The Friars were led by Keigo Kitadate’s hat trick. Devin Maluwelmeng was credited with the Geckos’ lone goal off of a free kick in the first half.

An awards ceremony was held after the championship match with the top three teams receiving their respective trophies and team-member medals. Meyer was named MVP of the championship game and received a separate trophy.